Google
 

Friday, July 17, 2015

How to Prevent Downloading of Shared Google Docs

One of the best aspects of Google Drive is ability to quickly share documents and presentations with a large group of people. Sometimes when you share your documents or presentations you only want people to view those files, not edit or download them. You could share Google Docs as view-only but people can still make a copy of their own and download it. Recently, Google added the option to prevent downloading of shared files, even files shared as view-only.

To prevent downloading of shared Google Documents open the "advanced" menu that appears in the sharing dialogue box. Then inside the advanced settings choose the option to prevent download. The screenshots below illustrate how to find these settings.

Click image to view full size.
Click image to view full size. 
H/T to Lifehacker