Tuesday, September 1, 2020

How to Use Version History in Google Slides

Last week I received an email from a reader who wanted to know if there was a way to share a set of Google Slides with a group of students but restrict them to working on one or two slides within the slideshow. Unfortunately, there isn't a way to lock students into specific slides within a shared slideshow. Since you can't do that, the next best thing is to use version history in Google Slides to keep track of the changes made to a shared slideshow.

In the following video I demonstrate how to use version history in Google Slides to see the changes made to a shared slideshow. Within the version history you can see who made changes, when the changes were made, and give names to each version of the slideshow. Most importantly, the video shows you how to revert to a previous version of a Google Slides slideshow.


On a related note, here's how to selectively copy slides from one Google Slides presentation to another.